26 May, 2019

Regional Centre


The IGNOU Regional Centre, Cochin was established on 17th November, 1988 to provide open and distance education in the State of Kerala and the Union Territory of Lakshadweep. Over the years, the activities of IGNOU in the region grew and a number of Study Centres were established with substantial student enrolment in various academic programmes of the University.

With the establishment of Regional Centre, Trivandrum in the year 2009, jurisdiction of three southern districts of the State viz., Kollam, Pathanamthitta and Thriuvananthapuram districts have been allotted to the Regional Centre, Trivandrum. Later, in 2011, another Regional Centre was established at Vatakara in Kozhikode district, with the jurisdiction of four northern districts such as Kasaragod, Kannur, Kozhikode and Wayanad. Now, the Regional Centre, Cochin caters to seven districts of Kerala viz., Ernakulam, Malappuram, Thrissur, Palakkad, Kottayam, Idukki and Alappuzha. In addition, the Union Territory of Lakshadweep also comes under the jurisdiction of RC, Cochin (Fig: 1).


                                                      Fig: 1 Map showing the jurisdiction of IGNOU Regional Centre, Cochin

The University construc¬ted a four storied building for the Regional Centre at Kaloor, Cochin. The present four-storied Regional Centre building has the Regional Centre, the Gyan Vani FM Radio Station, Computer Labs, class rooms, conference rooms and Library. A new block (2nd building) of the Regional Centre is also coming up behind the existing premises with a ground plus 5 floors with classrooms, conference halls, labs in general and warehouse for course materials in particular.